Mavhaire replacement nominated

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) has gazetted the nomination of Zanu-PF Central Committee member Clemence Makwarimba as a Senator, replacing Mr Dzikamai Mavhaire.

ZEC also published the names of three candidates who were nominated to participate in the Nkulumane National Assembly by-election set for December 19.RITA-MAKARAU-2

In the Government Gazette published on Friday, ZEC chairperson Justice Rita Makarau said:

“It is hereby notified, in terms of Section 39(6) of the Electoral Act (Chapter 2:13) that the Zimbabwe African National Union Patriotic Front (Zanu-PF) party has nominated Clemence Makwarimba a registered voter in Ward 19 of Masvingo Rural District Council, of Magangani Village, Chief Mapanzure, Masvingo, to fill the vacancy in the Senate that occurred following the recall by the Zanu-PF of the incumbent member Mr Dzikamai Mavhaire on the grounds that he had ceased to be a member of that party.”

Those with objections to the nomination were invited to do so in writing and forward them to ZEC head office in Harare within 14 days of the publication.

“Any voter wishing to object to the nomination of Clemence Makwarimba may, in writing, lodge such objections with the Chief Elections Officer, at Mahachi Quantum Building, corner Kaguvi Street

and Jason Moyo Avenue, Harare or post them to Private Bag 7782, Causeway, within 14 days from the date of publication of this notice, setting forth the reasons for the objection,” Justice Makarau said.

The commission has also published the names of Killian Sibanda (Zanu-PF), Sibusisiwe Mpofu (RDZ) and Ngwalo Nyathi (PDZ) as the nominees for the Nkulumane by-election.

The Nomination Court sat on November 6 2015 to replace the Mr Thamsanqa Mahlangu (MDC-T) who died early this month.

ZEC has also declared a vacancy in the National Assembly following the death of Joan Tsogorani, who was a proportional representation legislator in Mashonaland West.

“It is hereby notified that, in terms of Section 39(4) (a) of the Electoral Act (Chapter 2:13), a vacancy among the party-list members of the National Assembly following the death on 21st of September 2015, of Joan Tsogorani who was member of the National Assembly for Mashonaland West Province by virtue of Section 124(1) (b) of the Constitution,” Justice Makarau said.

Makawarimba is former chief executive for Masvingo Rural District Council.

He replaces Mr Mavhaire, who was fired from the ruling party as well as Government for being part of the putschist cabal led by former Vice President Dr Joice Mujuru that sought to topple President Mugabe.