BREAKING NEWS: 21 MDC Renewal MPs case dismissed

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

tbChief Justice Godfrey Chidyausiku, sitting with the full Constitutional Court bench, has dismissed the case of 21 MDC Renewal MPs who were challenging their dismissal from the August House for lack of merit.
This means by-elections will continue on June 10 as scheduled in a plebiscite being boycotted by all major opposition parties unhappy with the electoral field of play which they argue is highly skewed in favour of the ruling party, ZANU-PF.
The ruling party has rubbished such claims as a mere publicity stunt and has launched a spirited campaign despite the absence of meaningful challenge.
The 21 were dismissed from parliament after they broke away from the mainstream opposition MDC-T to form their own.
A fortnight ago, Justice Chidyausiku also dismissed a similar case involving former ZANU-PF secretary for administration, Didymus Mutasa and Temba Mliswa, the former chairman for ZANU-PF’s Mashonaland West province.

%d bloggers like this: