Home Politics Douglas Mwonzora Recalls 16 More Councillors After By Election Defeat

Douglas Mwonzora Recalls 16 More Councillors After By Election Defeat

by reporter263

MDC-T leader Douglas Mwonzora has reportedly recalled 16 more councillors barely a day after the nation held its by-elections.

The recalls come at a time when the nation has just conducted by-elections to replace 28 legislators and 121 councillors. A number of seats that were being filled became vacant last year after Douglas Mwonzora recalled them. He accused them of supporting Nelson Chamisa.

According to Sunday News, MDC-T secretary-general Ms Paurina Mpariwa wrote to the Minister of Local Government and Public Works, July Moyo informing him of the recall of 16 provincial council members from eight provinces after they ceased to belong to their party.

We hereby notify your office in terms of Section 268 as read with Section 129 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe we hereby declare that the following provincial councillors have ceased to belong to the Movement for Democratic Change, which is a member of the Movement for Democratic Change Alliance.

Our party was the party to which these councillors belonged at the time of the 2018 elections. I am the current secretary-general and as such my office has the authority to make this correspondence.


The members listed, by operation of clause 5.10a of the constitution of our party, their membership is automatically terminated,” reads the

Here is a list of councillors that have been recalled by Douglas Mwonzora;

1). Sharon Ndlovu, Matabeleland North

2). Caroline Ndlovu, Matabeleland North

3). Chiratidzo Mudimba, Matabeleland North

4). George Siachuma, Matabeleland North

5). Clrs Learny Ndlovu, Matabeleland South

6). Mtsabo Jerow Habvane, Matabeleland South

7). Gugu Ncube, Matabeleland South

8). Clrs Fransisco Masendere, Midlands

9). Lucia Madzivire, Midlands

10). Sarah Mwatenga, Masvingo province

11). Sekai Dhokotera, Mashonaland Central,

12). Petro Tonderai Samhu, Mashonaland Central

13). Constance Chihota, Mashonaland East

14). Taurayi Pasirayi, Mashonaland East

15). Edeline Chivimbiso, Mashonaland West

16). Macdonald Homora, Mashonaland West

Meanwhile, as per the latest results announced by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC), the opposition Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) led by Nelson Chamisa is leading the race in both National Assembly and local government seats while the Mwonzora-led party has not won any seat.

You may also like

error: Content is protected !!