Khupe expels 25 Chamisa allies in Kuwadzana (FULL LIST)


Thokozani Khupe

The trigger-happy opposition MDC-T led by Thokozani Khupe continues being unrelenting in its bid to rid itself of rival leader Nelson Chamisa’s sympathisers among its ranks as the Khupe camp yesterday sent 25 Chamisa allies packing.

Zimbabwe Voice reports that the Kuwadzana MDC-T District Council met Sunday 4 October 2020 to deliberate on various things developing in the Party, chief among them being the impending extraordinary congress.

The meeting, called and chaired by members openly sympathetic to MDC-T Secretary-general Douglas Mwonzora, kicked off by discussin the Supreme Court Judgement which was delivered in March 2020 in which all the Party Structures were reverted back to what they were at the last Congress of 2014.

The ruling declared Chamisa’s succession of Morgan Tsvangirai as illegitimate, and the Kuwadzana District Council yesterday endorsed the Supreme Court Judgement.

However there were other members who were in the MDC- T Structures in Kuwadzana District, Wards and Branches who did not want to respect the Supreme Court Judgement had chose to be part of the Chamisa camp. These were all expelled yesterday Kuwadzana.

Among those expelled is Johnson Matambo, a former personal aide to Chamisa during the time Chamisa was a Government Minister between 2009 and 2013. Matambo is running to replace Chalton Hwende as the Kuwadzana East Member of Parliament.

Hwende became the first casualty of the intra factional battles in the MDC camps as he was recalled by Khupe long back.

Johnson Matambo, formerly Chamisa’s personal driver, wants to challenge Khupe’s choice of MP candidate in Kuwadzana East.

The Khupe camp said Matambo and 24 others who openly aligned with Chamisa had by so doing expelled themselves and will be barred from participating in the extraordinary congress.

The expelled members are:
1) Girisoti Mandere
2) Thomas Gono
3) John Kaseke
4) Raymond Jakopo Mubaiwa
5) Samuel Murahwa
6) Peter Chitukudza
7) Maria Masango
8) Chiedza Sengwe
9) Doreen Dhimasi
10) Johnson Matambo
11) Adonia Shoko
12) Moses Mulanje
13) Phabi Mquabuko
14) Zivanai Tapera
15) Julia Letera
17) Memory Murangwa
18) Fungai Muromba
19) Tapfumaneyi Mugota
20) Elias Mutengwa
21) Stewart Shonhiwa
22) Lucas Marizani
23) Vincent Dinara
24) Last Nyaduwe
25) Davison Mapfuwa.

Most members of the Chamisa camp have recently come to realize they blundered by not following the Supreme Court ruling and some have been openly claiming they will take part in the extraordinary congress in order to wrestle control of the party and assets from Khupe.

Hwende and MDC Alliance secretary for local government, Sesel Zvidzai, are among those who have indicated they want in on the extraordinary congress. – Zimbabwe Voice