Mugabe fires seven more ministers
Main News Politics Zimbabwe

Mugabe fires seven more ministers


President Mugabe has wielded the axe again, sacking seven ministers. In a statement, the Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Dr Misheck Sibanda says President Robert Mugabe has relieved the seven of their duties and functions with immediate effect as it had become apparent that their conduct and performance were below the expected standard and outcome. They comprise Minister of State for Presidential Affairs Cde Flora Bhuka. Minister of State in the Vice President’s Office Cde Sylvester Nguni. Deputy Minister of Health and Child Care Dr Paul Chimedza. Deputy Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Services Cde Tongai Muzenda. Deputy Minister of Lands and Rural Resettlement, Cde Tendai Savanhu. Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development, Cde Petronella Kagonye and Deputy Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, Cde Fortune Chasi. This brings to 16 the number of legislators who have been fired from their cabinet and government posts, including Dr Joice Mujuru from the position of vice president. Dr Sibanda says the dismissal of the ministers and deputy ministers has been carried out in terms of Section 108 Sub-section 1(a) of the constitution. Dr Mujuru and her group of supporters were dropped from the party after failing to secure central committee seats following their implication in a plot to illegally and unconstitutionally oust Cde Mugabe from power.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *