Nomination Court Sits Amid MDC-T Court Challenge
Main News Zimbabwe

Nomination Court Sits Amid MDC-T Court Challenge

Five candidates have been nominated to contest in the parliamentary by-elections for Chirumanzu-Zibagwe constituency, while four candidates successfully filed their papers to contest in Mount Darwin West constituency.The elections are set to be held on March 27, 2015.

In Chirumanzu-Zibagwe the five candidates that will square up are Cde Auxillia Mnangagwa of Zanu-PF, Mr Gadzamoyo Dhewa of the Good People’s Movement Party, Mr Munashe Mutodza of National Constitution Assembly (NCA), Willbroad Kanoti an independent candidate and Abigail Musambasi from Transform Zimbabwe.

The nomination court, which was presided over by Midlands Provincial Electoral Officer Mrs Docas Mpofu, was held at the Gweru magistrates’ court yesterday.

Mrs Mpofu confirmed the nominations of the five candidates.

“We have received five nominations from five different parties. We will have an inspection tomorrow at this court while we will meet all the candidates’ representatives from all the parties,” she said.

In Mount Darwin West the four candidates that will fight it out are, Cde Barnwell Seremwe of Zanu-PF, Mr Kenard Fungai (Transform Zimbabwe), Cyril Muradzi (Freedom Front of Zimbabwe) and NCA’s Mr Rueben Mafigu.

The Nomination court sat at the Bindura magistrates court yesterday.

The Chirumanzu-Zibagwe parliamentary constituency was declared vacant following the elevation of Zanu-PF second secretary Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa to the position of Vice President last month.

The Mount Darwin by-election is meant to replace Cde Joice Mujuru who was elevated to become Vice President but has since been fired from the second highest office in the land for allegedly plotting to unseat President Mugabe.

The three MDC formations will not participate in the elections following their announcement withdrawing from all by-elections.

Zanu-PF Midlands spokesperson Cde Cornelius Mpereri said he was confident that the revolutionary party would consolidate its dominance in the province and country by winning the seat.

“We are very confident that we will retain the Chirumanzu-Zibagwe parliamentary seat,” he said.

Zanu-PF Mashonaland Central provincial chairperson Cde Dickson Mafios said they were taking the election seriously.

“We have to demonstrate that after elections the party has grown from strength to strength,” he said.

Other parties, refused to speak to the Herald in both

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *