Sekeramayi , Parirenyatwa survive
Main News Politics Zimbabwe

Sekeramayi , Parirenyatwa survive


Zanu-PF Mashonaland East heavyweights, Dr Sydney Sekeramayi and Dr David Parirenyatwa, survived the chop yesterday after they were re-elected into the Central Committee in fresh polls held in districts in the province.

Other provincial heavyweights Paddy Zhanda, Jerry Gotora, Newton Kachepa and Eric Navaya also emerged victors in their respective districts with Joel Biggie Matiza the only big shot who failed to make it.

Zanu-PF ordered fresh elections in the province following concerns that the list submitted to the 6th National People’s Congress last week did not reflect the wishes of the people.

Congress delegates from Mashonaland East province raised complaints over the names submitted as Central Committee members from their province, prompting President Mugabe to ask the province to re-look their list and submit names acceptable to the members.

It turned out that most of the people who won yesterday were the same people who had won the initial elections.

The elections were held under the supervision of police details in all the nine administrative districts while most of the candidates were present during the elections.

In Marondera District, Sekeramayi polled (54 votes) against Felistus Muranda who got (33 votes) and Lawrence Katsiru (20 votes).

Daisy Taguma (women’s quota) made it into the Central Committee.

Sekeramayi thanked party officials for standing by him.

“The will of the people has prevailed. I thank you for heeding the call by President Mugabe that fresh elections be held and indeed they have been done in a peaceful environment.

“To those who lost, we are one and let us work together for the development of the province and the party at large.”

Zanu-PF Mashonaland East acting provincial chairperson Phineas Chihota said the elections were free and fair.

“They went on well without any disturbances. The elections were well coordinated and supervised by the police,” he said.

In Goromonzi, Zhanda, Gorden Mujahwe and Felix Zhangazha won the elections while in Seke, Blanco Matsangura, Tabeth Murwira and Joseph Mubaiwa made it.

In Murehwa, Parirenyatwa, Stanley Jakopo and Lilian Zemura made it into the Central Committee with Matiza losing out.

The Central Committee members elected in Mutoko are Japhet Chinake, Annah Kadiki and Ordo Nyakudanga while Mudzi had Kachepa, Navaya and Christopher Musa.

However, figures of how many votes they received could not be obtained yesterday night.

Sekeramayi almost failed to get into the Central Committee for allegedly supporting ousted provincial chairman Ray Kaukonde, who was said to have skipped the border into South Africa in the wake of reports of his involvement in the plot to oust President Mugabe.
He was accused of failing to rein in Kaukonde when he went about sponsoring factional activities and sexually abusing female party members in the province, despite being secretary for security in the Politburo.

He allegedly did nothing, let alone alerting the Politburo about the sinister plots, yet all the machinations were happening right under his nose, leading many to conclude he was party to the Mujuru cabal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *